Monday 15 June 2015 7:40 am

Labour leadership contest: Jeremy Corbyn makes it onto Labour leader ballot in 11th-hour victory: Who are the MPs that endorsed him?

Jeremy Corbyn has made it onto the ballot for Labour's leadership contest with less than an hour to go before the deadline. 
It was confirmed that the Islington MP, who is seen as more left-wing than many of his competitors, received the required 35 nominations just moments before the midday closing point.
It was widely seen as a grassroots campaign, backed by many anti-austerity voters and MPs who sit on the left. He received a swathe of last minute support from people who had backed Mary Creagh, who dropped out on Friday. 
Corbyn said: "I'm on the ballot as a result of a massive campaign by Labour supporters across the country, urging MPs to vote for democracy."
It would be a huge swing to the left if Corbyn became the next Labour leader: he has actively protested against the austerity measures, appearing at several demonstrations and is often compared to the likes of Tony Benn. 
But who backed him – and why? 
The full list of MPs to endorse Jeremy Corbyn is: 
Here's who backed Jeremy Corbyn for Labour leader
NameConstituencyWho did they back last time?

Jon Trickett   

HemsworthEd Balls
Clive LewisNorwich SouthNot an MP in 2010
John McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonDiane Abbott
Michael MeacherOldham WestEd Miliband
Ronnie CampbellBlyth ValleyAndy Burnham
Diane AbbottHackney North Diane Abbott
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthDiane Abbott
Richard BurgonLeeds EastNot an MP in 2010
Dennis SkinnerBelsoverDavid Miliband
Grahame MorrisEasingtonEd Miliband
Frank FieldBirkenheadEd Miliband
Kate OsamorEdmontonNot an MP in 2010
Cat SmithLancaster and FleetwoodNot an MP in 2010
Dawn ButlerBrent CentralNot an MP in 2010
Chi OnwurahNewcastle Upon TyneEd Miliband
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthDiane Abbott
Catherine WestHornsey and Wood GreenNot an MP in 2010
Emily ThornberryIslington South Ed Miliband
Sadiq KhanTootingEd Miliband
Huw Irranca-DaviesOgmoreDavid Miliband
Jo CoxBatley and SpenNot an MP in 2010
Louise HaighSheffield HeeleyNot an MP in 2010
David LammyTottenhamDavid Miliband
Imran HussainBradford EastNot an MP in 2010
Rebecca Long-BaileySalford and EcclesNot an MP in 2010
Tulip SiddiqHampstead and KilburnNot an MP in 2010
Jon CruddasDagenham and RainhamDavid Miliband
Margaret BeckettDerby SouthEd Miliband
Gareth ThomasHarrow WestDavid Miliband
Rushanara AliBethnal Green and BowDavid Miliband
Neil CoyleBermondsey and Old SouthwarkNot an MP in 2010
Andrew SmithOxford EastEd Balls
Sarah ChampionRotherhamNot an MP in 2010
Ian MurrayEdinburgh SouthDavid Miliband
Gordon MarsdenBlackpool SouthEd Miliband


Here's what some of the MPs said: