Labour has unveiled its London mayor shortlist: Tessa Jowell, Sadiq Khan, David Lammy, Diane Abbott, Gareth Thomas, Christian Wolmar

Jessica Morris
Follow Jessica
MP Sadiq Khan is fighting to be Labour's candidate for the London Mayoral elections (Source: Getty)

The Labour party has revealed that six City Hall hopefuls will be fighting to become its candidate in next year's London mayoral elections.

Frontrunners include MPs Dame Tessa Jowell and Sadiq Khan.

MPs David Lammy, Diane Abbott, Gareth Thomas are also on the list, as well as journalist Christian Wolmar.

The candidates would've had to receive a minimum number of nominations from constituency parties across the capital - and pass an interview.

The eventual Labour candidate could have to face bookies' favourite Conservative Zac Goldsmith who has said he'll stand as long as he can get his constituency Richmond Park's approval.

"[Goldsmith] is local to London, his profile is not on Boris Johnson levels but he has a solid platform to build on. His green credentials will help his cross-party appeal and he is known, if for anything, to be a Tory rebel – especially on Heathrow," Tom Mludzinski, head of political polling at ComRes recently wrote in City A.M.

Read more: As Zac Goldsmith plans to run for London mayor, can the Conservatives win again in a Labour city?

Whoever wins next year's mayoral election will be stepping into the shoes of current mayor Boris Johnson who entered Parliament earlier this year as MP for Uxbridge.

And there are also rumours swirling that Boris may one day bid to become the Tory parties' top dog.

"The Mayor has let down London for too long," Harriet Harman, acting leader of the Labour Party said.

"We need a Labour mayor in City Hall to stand up for the interests of all Londoners, from Richmond to Redbridge and from Barnet to Bromley."

"Labour’s Mayoral candidate will lead the fightback against the Tories on behalf of Londoners. Who we choose is crucial — and a decision that I want everybody to be involved in making."

Read more: Who will be the next Boris Johnson? Runners, riders and potential candidates

Related articles