Monday 23 May 2016 3:45 pm

Vote Leave unveils 30-strong expert group to dismiss Brexit fears

Brexit campaign group Vote Leave has unveiled a group of 30 business leaders, economists and senior politicians to dismiss figures from the Treasury today, which suggest that the UK could see up to 800,000 job losses if it votes for Brexit.

In a joint statement, the group argue that a far greater risk is presented by remaining in the European Union, tied “tied to the failing single currency with an obligation to pay its bills”

It includes Hargreaves Lansdown founder Peter Hargreaves, economist Roger Bootle and CMC Markets chief executive Peter Cruddas.

In a statement, the group said: ‘The last time the Treasury warned us about a potential economic shock, it was trying to scare us into staying in the Exchange Rate Mechanism (ERM). When we finally decided to leave, the result was higher growth, lower inflation and a fall in interest rates. A few years later, the Treasury suggested it would be economically advantageous to scrap the pound, which would have been a disaster. They were wrong then and they are wrong now.

‘Instead of talking about forecasts and woolly predictions, we should instead talk about what is happening now. It is a fact that – every week – we send millions to Brussels. That is what is happening right now.”

The full group list is below.


Andrea Leadsom

MP, Minister of State for Energy

Andrew Baxter

Managing Director, Europa Worldwide Logistics

Chris D.Kelly

Chairman, Keltruck Ltd

David Buik

Market Commentator, Panmure Gordon & Co

Gary Lydiate

Chief Executive Officer, Kilfrost Group

Dr Gerard Lyons

Economists for Brexit

Ian Herbert

Chief Executive Officer, Vistair Systems

Jacob Rees-Mogg

MP, Member of Treasury Select Committee

Jeffrey Peel

Founder, Quadriga Consulting

John Fifield

Chairman, Fifield Glyn

John Longworth

Former Director General of the British Chambers of Commerce and Chairman of the Vote Leave Business Council

John Mills

Chairman, JML

Johnnie Arkwright

Chief Executive, Hatton Technology Park

Jon Moulton

Chairman, Better Capital LLP

Lance Forman

Owner, H. Forman & Son

Luke Johnson

Chairman, Patisserie Valerie

Luke Morris

Partner, Larking Gowen

Michael Forsyth

Lord Forsyth of Drumlean

Moorad Choudhry

Former Chief Executive, Habib Bank

Neville Baxter

Director, RH Development Property

Peter Cruddas

Chief Executive, CMC Markets

Peter K Hargreaves

Co-Founder, Hargreaves Lansdown

Robert Hiscox

Honorary President, Hiscox Insurance

Roger Bootle


Rt Hon John Redwood

MP, Wokingham

Ruth Lea

Economic Adviser, Arbuthnot Banking Group

Scott Fletcher

ANS Group, Chairman & Founder

Simon Boyd

Managing Director, John Reid & Sons

Stephen Britt

Managing Director, Anchor Storage Solutions

Steve Baker

MP, Member of Treasury Select Committee

Tim Martin

Chairman, JD Wetherspoon