Wednesday 4 September 2019 9:36 am

The 21 Tory MPs Boris Johnson has sacked from the party after Brexit defeat

Boris Johnson’s historic showdown with MPs ended last night with 21 Tory rebels being expelled from the party.

The Prime Minister, who lost a crucial vote yesterday that gives the Commons control of the order paper, swiftly sacked 21 MPs who rebelled against him in the battle to prevent a no-deal Brexit.

Among the MPs to be sacked was Rory Stewart, who told the BBC this morning that he was expelled by text while receiving a “Politician of the Year” award from GQ magazine.

Read more: PM loses key vote

The list of 21 Tory rebels is as follows:

1. Guto Bebb, Aberconwy

2. Richard Benyon, Newbury

3. Steve Brine, Winchester

4. Alistair Burt, North East Bedofrdshire

5. Greg Clark, Tunbridge Wells

6. Kenneth Clarke, Rushcliffe

7. David Gauke, South West Hertfordshire

8. Justine Greening, Putney

9. Dominic Grieve, Beaconsfield

10. Sam Gyimah, East Surrey

11. Philip Hammond, Runnymede and Weybridge

12. Stephen Hammond, Wilmbledon

13. Richard Harrington, Watford

14. Margot James, Stourbridge

15. Sir Oliver Letwin, West Dorset

16. Anne Milton, Guildford

17. Caroline Nokes, Romsey and Southampton North

18. Antoinette Sandbach, Eddisbury

19. Sir Nicholas Soames, Mid Sussex

20. Rory Stewart, Penrith and The Border

21. Edward Vaizey, Wantage