Sunday 13 March 2016 1:29 pm

EU referendum: Vote Leave confirms Labour MP Gisela Stuart as chair, with other top jobs for justice secretary Michael Gove, mayor of London Boris Johnson and former BCC boss John Longworth

Vote Leave has confirmed that justice secretary Michael Gove will co-chair its campaign committee with Labour MP Gisela Stuart, with mayor of London Boris Johnson, former British Chambers of Commerce (BCC) boss John Longworth and Ukip spokesperson Suzanne Evans also getting top jobs at the eurosceptic campaign.

It was first reported last week that Gove was being lined up to chair the committee, while Stuart would chair the campaign's board.

Gove, a close ally of Prime Minister David Cameron, revealed last month that he would be campaigning for the UK to leave the EU.

Vote Leave also confirmed today that Stuart would chair the board, while Labour donor John Mills would serve as deputy chairman.

Vote Leave is one of multiple eurosceptic groups vying for official campaign status in the run-up to the referendum on Britain's European Union membership on 23 June. Grassroots Out (GO), which has the support of Ukip donor Arron Banks-backed Leave.EU, have also made clear that they want the Electoral Commission's seal of approval.

The cross-party appointments confirmed by Vote Leave today are expected to boost the campaign's chances of receiving official campaign status.

Conservatives for Britain founder Steve Baker and Ukip's only MP, Douglas Carswell will also be on the campaign committee, as will Johnson, Longworth and all of the eurosceptic Cabinet members. 

The campaign's board will also include CMC markets founder Peter Cruddas and Ukip spokesperson Suzanne Evans.

Full list of campaign committee members:

  • Michael Gove (co-convener)
  • Gisela Stuart (co-convener)
  • Matthew Elliott (chief executive)
  • Dominic Cummings (campaign director)
  • Steve Baker
  • Douglas Carswell
  • Ian Davidson 
  • Nigel Dodds
  • Iain Duncan Smith
  • Frank Field
  • Lord Forsyth
  • Liam Fox
  • Chris Grayling
  • Dan Hannan
  • Boris Johnson 
  • Paul Keetch
  • Lord Lawson
  • Andrea Leadsom
  • John Longworth
  • Lord Owen
  • Priti Patel
  • Dominic Raab
  • Graham Stringer
  • Theresa Villiers
  • John Whittingdale

Full list of board members:

  • Gisela Stuart (chairman)
  • John Mills (deputy chairman)
  • Arabella Arkwright
  • Martin Bellamy
  • Harriet Bridgeman
  • Peter Cruddas
  • Suzanne Evans
  • Michael Forsyth
  • Alan Halsall
  • Daniel Hodson 
  • Bernard Jenkin
  • Jon Moynihan 
  • Graham Stringer
  • Anne-Marie Trevelyan
  • Stuart Wheeler
  • Victoria Woodcock