Wednesday 10 July 2019 11:15 am

Take two: Ex-Change UK MPs forge new alliance called The Independents

A splinter group of MPs who were part of Change UK have embarked on another rebranding, forming a new political alliance called The Independents.

Read more: All Change UK: Tory and Labour MPs disband after election failure

Four MPs have founded a so-called “co-operative of independent politicians” after quitting Change UK early last month, when the party suffered a hammering at the ballot box during the European elections.

Heidi Allen, Luciana Berger, Gavin Shuker and Angela Smith are all founding members of the new group launched this week, which claims not to be a political party but rather a “new home for independent politicians in Westminster”.

John Woodcock, an MP who quit the Labour party with an attack on the ‘hard left’, is also part of the group.

In a statement the new organisation said: “It launches today to encourage a stronger spirit of cross-party working and its members will work collaboratively in the national interest, including to prevent a damaging no-deal Brexit which will put the jobs and futures of young people of this country at risk.”

Read more: Change UK founder Chuka Umunna joins Lib Dems

Ann Coffey, Chris Leslie, Mike Gapes, Anna Soubry and Joan Ryan have all remained as members of Change UK.