Wednesday 9 June 2021 3:29 pm

Six Premier League clubs fined £22m over failed European Super League project

The Premier League has fined six English clubs who tried to join a breakaway European Super League a combined £22m.

The rebel teams – Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United and Tottenham Hotspur – will pay £3.67m each.

But they face fines of £25m per club and 30-point deductions should they attempt a similar move again.

The Premier League said: “The six clubs involved in proposals to form a European Super League have today acknowledged once again that their actions were a mistake, and have reconfirmed their commitment to the Premier League and the future of the English game.

“They have wholeheartedly apologised to their fans, fellow clubs, the Premier League and The FA.

“As a gesture of goodwill, the clubs have collectively agreed to make a contribution of £22m which will go towards the good of the game, including new investment in support for fans, grassroots football and community programmes.

“Furthermore, the clubs have agreed to support rule changes so that any similar actions in the future would lead to a 30 point deduction. Each of the six clubs, in that event, would also be subject to an additional £25m fine.”

The six clubs were among 12 European teams to sign up to the project in April.

But the plans fell apart within 48 hours in the face of a fierce backlash from fans and politicians.

Real Madrid, Barcelona and Juventus have refused to join Inter Milan, AC Milan, Atletico Madrid and the Premier League clubs in renouncing the European Super League.

They still face the threat of being banned from the Champions League by European chiefs Uefa.