Wednesday 10 February 2016 12:01 am

EU referendum: 30 more Conservative, Labour and Liberal Democrat MPs back the pro-EU Stronger In campaign

The pro-EU Britain Stronger In Europe campaign today revealed the names of 30 more current and former Conservative, Labour and Liberal Democrat MPs and peers who have have agreed to support their campaign.

They include:


  • Richard Benyon MP
  • Neil Carmichael MP
  • James Cartlidge MP
  • Flick Drummond MP
  • Dominic Grieve MP
  • Kevin Hollinrake MP
  • Ben Howlett MP
  • former MP Sir Malcolm Rifkind
  • Sir Nicholas Soames
  • Caroline Spelman


  • Vernon Coaker MP
  • Jo Cox MP
  • Mary Creagh MP
  • Gloria de Piero MP
  • Michael Dugher MP
  • Margaret Hodge MP
  • Tristram Hunt MP
  • Dan Jarvis MP
  • Seema Malhotra MP
  • Lisa Nandy MP
  • Jonathan Reynolds MP

…and all eight Liberal Democrat MPs:

  • Tom Brake MP
  • Alistair Carmichael MP
  • Nick Clegg MP
  • Tim Farron MP
  • Norman Lamb MP
  • Greg Mulholland MP
  • John Pugh MP
  • Mark Williams MP

Lib Dem peers Lord Don Foster and Baroness Lynne Featherstone also backed the campaign today.

"We are delighted that so many parliamentarians from across the political spectrum are joining our campaign as political champions. Ours is a truly cross-party campaign," Stronger In executive director Will Straw will say at an event later today.

"Despite their obvious political differences, they are all united behind the vision that Britain is stronger, safer and better off in Europe."

While Stronger In said today's list was "not exhaustive", the number pales in comparison to the alleged number of MPs signed up to the anti-EU Conservatives for Britain group. According to the group's co-chair Steve Baker, around 150 Conservative MPs alone have expressed an interest in the eurosceptic group.