BBC debate: What time is it, where can I watch it, who's the favourite to win, when will we know who's won

Guy Bentley
Follow Guy
Opposition leaders arrive for tonight's debate (Source: Getty)

Tonight the UK's major opposition leaders will go head-to-head on the BBC to decide who best represents the strongest challenge to the coalition government.

The debate is the penultimate major televised event of the campaign. The next will be a BBC Question Time special featuring David Cameron, Ed Miliband and Nick Clegg on April 30.

In anticipation of tonight's festivities here's a cheat's guide to the opposition leaders debate.

What time is it?

The debate will be broadcast on BBC1 from 8:00pm from Central Hall in Westminster and will last an hour and a half.

Who is the moderator?

Veteran Question Time chairman David Dimbleby will moderate tonight's proceedings.

Where can I watch it?

The debate will be broadcast on BBC1 and will be live-streamed on BBC iPlayer.

What's the order of opening statements?

Plaid Cymru leader Leanne Wood will speak first, followed by Nigel Farage, Ed Miliband, Nicola Sturgeon and finally Natalie Bennett.

What positions will they be on-set?

From left to right the order of leaders will be: Ed Miliband, Leanne Wood, Natalie Bennett, Nicola Sturgeon and Nigel Farage.

How many questions will there be?

The leaders will each be asked five questions, with a chance for a one-minute response, followed by a free flowing 10-minute discussion.

Who's the bookies' favourite to win?

According to betting firm Sporting Index, Ukip leader Nigel Farage is odds-on favourite to come out on top after tonight's debate.

When will we know who's won?

Survation will release a snap poll for the Daily Mirror shortly after the debate.

Related articles