Full England squad: Eddie Jones' 33-man squad for the Six Nations features returns for Chris Ashton and Marlon Yarde but no Danny Cipriani

Joe Hall
Follow Joe
Eddie Jones Announced As England Head Coach
Jones has not been afraid to drop big name players in his first England squad (Source: Getty)

Eddie Jones has called up seven uncapped players into his first squad as England head coach, including 21-year-old Saracens lock Maro Itoje and Wasps' 23-year-old centre Elliot Daly.

High profile players including Danny Cipriani, Ben Morgan, Brad Barritt and Tom Youngs have been left out of the Six Nations squad, while there are returns for Chris Ashton, Marlon Yarde and Dylan Hartley.

"We have selected a squad of players who we think can go to Murrayfield and win," explained Jones. "This is our number one priority, to start with a win, so we have picked a squad which is a mix of experience and potential."

He continued: "The long-term strategy for England is to develop a side who can be the most dominant team in world rugby, so we have chosen a lot of new players on the growth we see in them. We see these players growing into England players of the future and developing into a side who can be the best in the world. Our aim is to develop a squad where there is depth and competition in every position."

Read more: Jones has no sympathy for axed England flops

The squad in full:


Front row

  • Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
  • Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
  • Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs)
  • Mako Vunipola (Saracens)
  • Joe Marler (Harlequins)
  • Jamie George (Saracens)
  • Paul Hill (Northampton Saints)
  • Matt Mullan (Wasps)
  • Henry Thomas (Bath Rugby) *injury replacement for Kieran Brookes (Northampton Saints)

Second row

  • Maro Itoje (Saracens)
  • Joe Launchbury (Wasps)
  • Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
  • Josh Beaumont (Sale Sharks)

Back row

  • Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)
  • Matt Kvesic (Gloucester Rugby) *injury replacement for Dave Ewers (Exeter Chiefs)
  • George Kruis (Saracens)
  • James Haskell (Wasps)
  • Billy Vunipola (Saracens)
  • Jack Clifford (Harlequins)



  • Danny Care (Harlequins)
  • Owen Farrell (Saracens)
  • George Ford (Bath Rugby)
  • Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)


  • Chris Ashton (Saracens)
  • Elliot Daly (Wasps)
  • Ollie Devoto (Bath Rugby) *injury replacement for Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers)
  • Sam Hill (Exeter Chiefs) *injury replacement for Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
  • Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby)
  • Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs)
  • Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby)
  • Marland Yarde (Harlequins)


  • Mike Brown (Harlequins)
  • Alex Goode (Saracens)

Related articles