Wiggins heads SPOTY shortlist

GENERAL: Tour de France winner Bradley Wiggins is the bookies’ tip to win the BBC Sports Personality of the Year award after the shortlist of 12 was announced last night. Tennis star Andy Murray, cyclist Sir Chris Hoy and athletes Mo Farah and Jessica Ennis are also contenders. Paralympians Sarah Storey, Ellie Simmonds and David Weir, golfer Rory McIlroy, boxer Nicola Adams, rower Katherine Grainger and sailor Ben Ainslie also vie for the award on 16 December.