Michael Gove among the Leave campaigners elected to parliament's Brexit watchdog

Mark Sands
Follow Mark
Gove returns to the limelight after being cut out of cabinet by Theresa May. (Source: Getty)

Leading Brexiteer Michael Gove is to join a parliamentary committee designed to oversee the government's work on quitting the EU.

Gove is one of ten Conservatives elected to the newly established Brexit watchdog, which also include Leave campaigners Dominic Raab and John Whittingdale.

In all, eight of the 10 Tory MPs on the select committee backed Brexit - just two, Alistair Burt and Jeremy Lefroy campaigned to stay in the EU.

Read More: Hilary Benn wants to know what Theresa May is up to

However, the balance of the 21 member committee is still likely to swing towards the Remain camp - all of Labour's members including former shadow Europe minister Pat McFadden, and committee chair Hilary Benn, backed EU membership.

In total 15 of the members of the committee have so far been revealed with the six remaining seats split between the Scottish National party, the Lib Dems, Plaid Cymru and the Northern Irish Democratic Unionist and Social Democratic and Labour parties.

Brexit Committee membership so far -


  • Alistair Burt,
  • Maria Caulfield,
  • Michael Gove,
  • Andrea Jenkyns,
  • Jeremy Lefroy,
  • Peter Lilley,
  • Karl McKartney
  • Craig Mackinlay
  • Dominic Raab
  • John Whittingdale


  • Hilary Benn (chair)
  • Pat McFadden
  • Seema Malhotra
  • Emma Reynolds
  • Stephen Timms

Related articles