Celebrating London’s financial and business community and its most successful individuals and firms

Welcome to the City A.M. Awards 2016

The City A.M. Awards for 2016, held at the glitzy Grange hotel opposite St Paul’s Cathedral, saw 14 individuals or businesses collect gongs in front of a star-studded audience of around 500 City figures. Our congratulations go to all the winners who stood out during 2016 for their exceptional work.

The event, however, is not purely to celebrate the lucky 14 who our judges selected. Equally, our Awards – now in their seventh year – recognise the wider contribution of our nominees and winners, and of all businesses, to the dynamism and strength of our country’s economy and social fabric. It is a modest way of doffing our cap to you, our readers, for the work you put into making the City such a vibrant, optimistic, and successful place in which to live and work.

See #cityamawards for all the fun and glamour from the night.

The winners



Personality of the Year

Sadiq Khan (Mayor of London)

Business of the Year

highly commended Jaguar

Explosive Growth Company of the Year


Accountancy Firm of the Year


Analyst of the Year

Yael Selfin (KPMG)
highly commended Ian Gordon (Investec)

Law Firm of the Year

Allen & Overy

Innovative Company of the Year


Insurance Company of the Year


Investor of the Year

Terry Smith (Fundsmith)
highly commended Simon Borrows (3i)

Bank of the Year

Metro Bank
highly commended TSB

Dealmaker of the Year

Simon Robey (Robey Warshaw)
highly commended Karen Cook (Goldman Sachs)

Fintech Company of the Year


Entrepreneur of the Year

Angus Thirlwell (Hotel Chocolat)