Editor's Letter

Friday 19 December 2014
  It's a funny thing about Santa Claus: he knows whether you’ve been bad or good, but you still have to tell him what you want to see under the tree.  
Friday 12 December 2014
Good news: 2014 has been the year of the selfie, according to Twitter.
Thursday 11 December 2014
John Griffith-Jones, the chair­man of the FCA, said last night that the regulator’s botched briefing to one media organ­isation, which went disastrously wrong and resulted in causing mayhem on the stock market last March, was well-intended.
Wednesday 10 December 2014
By the time the last of the chocolates have been foraged from the Advent Calendar, or thereabouts, WPP, the giant advertising group run by Sir Martin Sorrell, will very likely have chosen a new chair for the company’s board.
Thursday 04 December 2014
George Osborne is the consummate tactician. With 153 days to go to the election, there’s only one thing on his mind, and that’s how to breeze past opposition parties on the journey back to Downing Street. And who can blame him?
Friday 28 November 2014
This week, one American seas­onal tradition is on everyone’s lips: Black Friday. Today is the day when US retailers kick off the pre-Christmas rush with a slew of discounts, and their finances are said to move back into the black as a result.
Thursday 27 November 2014
Aviva’s New Zealand-born chief executive Mark Wilson comes from a family of insurance people and has been an in­vestor in insurance companies since he was 15.
Friday 21 November 2014
WHAM! Pow! There’s been a comic book intensity to the battle of business this week, with transport app Uber drawn as the villain after unscripted swings at journalists it felt had the disruptive tech firm in their sights.
Wednesday 19 November 2014
As the recent flotation of Virgin Money proved, albeit after a false start, London’s window for new issues (or Initial Public Offerings, IPOs) isn’t absolutely closed, as it was a couple of years ago.
Friday 14 November 2014
In a matter of weeks, during the first few days of January, I will be calling people to invite them to next year’s City A.M. awards.
Friday 07 November 2014
Around the Tower, the poppies flow, recalling crosses, row on row...
Thursday 06 November 2014
Those hoping the resurrection of the Virgin Money flotation might lead London’s initial public offering (IPO) markets into an end-of-year revival should take a read of yesterday’s statement from Stock Spirits Group, the Polish vodka maker that flo
Friday 31 October 2014
IT IS great news that Tim Cook has chosen to declare that he is proud to be gay.
Friday 24 October 2014
Britain wants change in Europe, but we have to think harder about what change is worth having.
Wednesday 22 October 2014
Investment bankers are a bit like accountants. They see opportunities from every eventuality.
Friday 17 October 2014
Business bashing is in vogue.
Thursday 16 October 2014
After days of fending off suggestions that its £800m flotation was in trouble, the challenger small business bank Aldermore finally succumbed to the inevitable yesterday.
Friday 10 October 2014
In Silicon Valley, tiny businesses with big ambitions get a surprising piece of advice: start things that don’t scale.
Martin Wheatley
Thursday 09 October 2014
As the advisers to the Jimmy Choo flotation announce they have enough support to proceed, there is much to be delighted with in the way the new issues market has gone this year.
Wednesday 08 October 2014
Who would want to be a bank director in London these days? Not Alan Thomson, a member of the audit and risk committee at HSBC Bank who, according to fellow columnist Mark Kleinman, has tendered his resign­ation.
Ed Miliband
Tuesday 07 October 2014
When I put it to one left-leaning businessman yesterday the notion that the former postman Alan Johnson might stand against Ed Miliband as Labour leader, he responded: “That would be lovely.” Some of Labour’s business supporters are running out o
Friday 03 October 2014
City A.M. will be 10 years old next year and until now it has had just two editors. Yesterday it got its third with my elevation to that role, with Marc Sidwell working alongside me as executive editor across all the company’s platforms.
Thursday 18 September 2014
There have surely been better political campaigns than the Better Together one that has been arguing the case for Scotland remaining in the United Kingdom, 307 years since the 1707 Act of Union.
Man with a megaphone
Friday 29 August 2014
Have you ever walked away from a big speech or a presentation feeling puzzled?
Friday 20 June 2014
THERE is one change, more than any other, that Britain needs to undergo if we want to fulfil our true potential.
Thursday 19 June 2014
TAX and spending remain far too high in the UK, dragging down our economy.
Wednesday 18 June 2014
ONE of Karl Marx’s big theories was that capitalism had an inherent tendency towards monopoly and would thus self-destroy. The idea remains widely held, and is one reason countries operate stringent anti-trust regulations.
Tuesday 17 June 2014
IT WAS Milton Friedman, the great Chicago economist, who put it best.
Monday 16 June 2014
WE ARE not running out of oil, far from it. The International Energy Agency is predicting that supply will shoot up from 89m barrels per day (bpd) in 2012 to 101m bpd by 2035.
Friday 13 June 2014
It's official: money is about to become more expensive. Mark Carney warned yesterday that rates could rise more quickly than the markets were predicting.
Thursday 12 June 2014
BRITAIN’S jobs market is continuing to defy gravity. The latest figures are stunningly good, with employment moving ever-closer to its all-time high as a share of the workforce and the number of jobs in the economy hitting another record.
Wednesday 11 June 2014
ENERGY companies haven’t helped themselves. Their biggest mistake over the past decade was to collude with the political establishment.
Tuesday 10 June 2014
IT is nothing short of scandalous that five state schools in Birmingham have had to be placed in special measures after being infiltrated by extremists.
Monday 09 June 2014
FOR the first time ever, a computer programme has managed to dupe experts into thinking that it was a 13-year old boy.
Friday 06 June 2014
SHORT of embracing quantitative easing, the European Central Bank has now done everything it can to try to loosen conditions in the Eurozone. But by no stretch of the imagination could yesterday’s actions be deemed radical.
Thursday 05 June 2014
THERE were two reactions to yesterday’s Queen Speech: critics dismissed it as lightweight in the extreme, a collection of reheated policies seasoned with a little trivia; supporters celebrated a government that understands that passing fewer laws
Wednesday 04 June 2014
WE SHALL soon find out whether the coalition is serious about introducing a right of recall for Members of Parliament.
Tuesday 03 June 2014
BRITONS don’t save enough. The fact that we don’t put enough money aside for a rainy day, for our retirement or to finance long-term care, is one of our great weaknesses.
Monday 02 June 2014
REGARDLESS of how Scotland votes on 18 September, change is in the air. Even if the Scots vote no to independence, the status quo is no longer sustainable.
Friday 30 May 2014
WHAT is going on in America? The US economy collapsed in the first quarter – and true to form, Wall Street’s reaction was to send share prices surging.
Thursday 29 May 2014
MORE evidence that high and punitive tax rates are bad for tax receipts. An official report from the French audit office makes damning reading for all those who believe in hammering taxpayers to pay for their pet projects.
Wednesday 28 May 2014
MUDDLED thinking is the enemy of sound judgement and sensible decision-making. Sadly, the current discussion about inequality is especially confused, with terms and concepts used loosely, making it impossible to conduct a sensible debate.
Tuesday 27 May 2014
COMPARE and contrast: when Nigel Farage balanced a pint of beer on his head yesterday, the stunt was seen as another PR triumph reinforcing his carefully constructed image as a happy go lucky, popular hero thumbing his nose at establishment conven
Friday 23 May 2014
QUESTION: What’s the diff-erence between the Home Counties and Texas?
Thursday 22 May 2014
VOTERS are very, very angry, as the political establishment is about to find out at its great cost.
Wednesday 21 May 2014
SO the great crackdown on mortgages has started. With the Bank of England’s monetary policy committee uninterested in hiking interest rates, the only solution to contain house prices, sadly, is to ration credit.
Tuesday 20 May 2014
SO IT’S all over for Pfizer’s bid for Astrazeneca – or at least that is what it now seems like.
Monday 19 May 2014
SPOT on. That is the only way to describe Mark Carney’s analysis of the woes of the UK housing market, which he attributes primarily to under-supply.
Friday 16 May 2014
WE all know that London emerged from the crisis remarkably unscathed. But few realise just how well our great city has performed over the past 15 years, and how we have grown faster than almost all comparable metropolises since the recession.
Thursday 15 May 2014
INTEREST rates won’t be going up any time soon, even though the economy is now booming.

Pages