Business Features

COMMENT

Monday 13 October 2014
Buzzwords can get tiresome, and “passion” is one that’s thrown around liberally. We’re told it pays to be passionate in our jobs, and that passionate leadership is the best kind.
Friday 10 October 2014
Don’t get caught out by “fixed pie” thinking, and always stay calm.  
Thursday 09 October 2014
Since 2008, “redundancy season” has become an inherent part of life in the City. The shifting market and regulatory backdrop have led to swathes of job cuts, as companies restructure to fit the new landscape.
Wednesday 08 October 2014
Businesses can learn a lot from the classics – try imitating Socrates in your next meeting.  
Tuesday 07 October 2014
Harriet Green talks to cognitive scientist Steven Pinker about avoiding corporatese.  
Monday 06 October 2014
Business Owners’ Idea Cafe This handy site is run by a series of successful entrepreneurs and authors, and includes advice, resources and relevant news items. Membership is free, and the site has a strong online community.
Monday 06 October 2014
The movie business is known for taking no prisoners. And for those that do try their hand at it, success is often fleeting.
Monday 06 October 2014
Dress smartly, finish your work, build your network, and you’ll be fine.  
Friday 03 October 2014
  Keep it clear – no one knows what you mean by “results-oriented”.  
Thursday 02 October 2014
Only a handful of business leaders tweet, which may be a good thing.   "I owe you one @BenKaufman! Here’s my #IceBucketChallenge. You’re up Sarah and Steve Immelt and Ken Chenault!”   
Wednesday 01 October 2014
You don’t have to be a genius to work out why brainteasers are dying.  
Tuesday 30 September 2014
Prepare a transition plan – overly acrimonious exits don’t serve anybody’s needs.
Monday 29 September 2014
Pitch Workshop for Startups
James Averdieck
Monday 29 September 2014
It's the kind of story you wouldn’t necessarily believe: someone cooked up the idea of a chocolatey pudding company while sitting in a coffee shop in Belgium, eating brioche. But for James Averdieck, founder of Gu, that’s exactly what happened.
Dave Lewis
Monday 29 September 2014
Dave Lewis found himself face to face with some wicked problems last week.
Friday 26 September 2014
But studying at a foreign business school isn’t the only way to get it
Friday 26 September 2014
Kevin Murray explains how really savvy leaders succeed in outsourcing inspiration.  
Thursday 25 September 2014
Yoga, sunlight and lots of small, fibre-filled meals could help.  
Wednesday 24 September 2014
From the digital economy to Richard Branson, Liam Ward-Proud lists this year’s top reads.  
Tuesday 23 September 2014
But there’s still space for the analogue antique in our digital future.  
Monday 22 September 2014
Rollasole Target: £150,000 for 7.5 per cent equity If you’ve seen a pair of bendy pumps someone’s shoved in their handbag, you’ll know how useful Rollasole shoes are. 
Monday 22 September 2014
If the Conservatives win next year’s general election, Lord Young will be the oldest person to work in Number 10 ever, beating William Gladstone, who was Prime Minister until he was 83.
George W Bush with his father George Bush Sr
Monday 22 September 2014
All of us have turned to our parents for support at some point in our lives, but how many of us regularly look to them for career advice?
Friday 19 September 2014
Don’t depend on PowerPoint, and be sure to start confidently.  
Thursday 18 September 2014
The relationship can be dysfunctional, but collaboration works to the benefit of all.  
Thursday 18 September 2014
Hard work isn’t all, and following your heart may well end in tears.  
Wednesday 17 September 2014
Even small changes, like always using highly precise numbers, can boost your persuasiveness, says Steve Martin.  
Tuesday 16 September 2014
Harriet Green examines the Two Pizza Rule and the benefits of workplace mindfulness.  
Big Bang Disruption
Monday 15 September 2014
Big Bang Disruption Larry Downes and Paul Nunes Disruption and innovation can now happen overnight. This book explores how companies can best protect themselves – but also how to be a part of it.
Monday 15 September 2014
They say if you don’t ask, you don’t get – and no one could accuse professor Sir Chris Evans of being shy about coming forward.
Monday 15 September 2014
Paolo Aversa explains what Formula 1 can teach business about the perils of having too many star performers.  
Friday 12 September 2014
Even our best laid schemes have the nasty habit of going awry
Thursday 11 September 2014
Imagine the end of desks, and watches that log your billing time
Wednesday 10 September 2014
Be cut-throat with previous jobs, but think before rejecting people
Tuesday 09 September 2014
Be positive, and remember that you could be the game changer
Monday 08 September 2014
It's often said that entrepreneurs should stick to what they know. Bill Gates knew software, hence Microsoft; Arianna Huffington knew media, hence The Huffington Post.
Monday 08 September 2014
We all know entrepreneurs are a positive bunch, afflicted with “optimism bias” – a rare ability to view the glass as half full – which drives them to success.
Monday 08 September 2014
Claims that elite sports men and women have something to teach businesses are often (rightly) greeted with scepticism.
Friday 05 September 2014
An “active” approach and making use of others can help you take the bull by the horns.  
Thursday 04 September 2014
The cosy, pro-sleep consensus is showing signs of breaking.  
Wednesday 03 September 2014
Cut down on numbers and be sure to avoid red wine discussions.  
Tuesday 02 September 2014
Harriet Green explains how to answer one of the trickiest interview questions out there.  
Monday 01 September 2014
UCL Advances Small Businesses briefing session A lunchtime briefing on how to join the next cohort of the Goldman Sachs 10,000 Small Businesses programme. 12.30pm, 9 September. Free
Karan Bilimoria
Monday 01 September 2014
If you haven’t enjoyed a Cobra beer yourself, you’ve probably had a curry with someone who has. Karan Bilimoria founded Cobra Beer in 1989.
Monday 01 September 2014
See your boss as a resource, but also know when to climb down.  
Friday 29 August 2014
Liam Ward-Proud looks at the free online courses that can help you learn a new skill.  
Thursday 28 August 2014
Many recruiters are automating their processes, but don’t expect the death of the interview.  
networking
Wednesday 27 August 2014
Know how to prioritise, do your research and always arrive early.  
Tuesday 26 August 2014
Stay on the lookout for “strong squares”, and be ready to sacrifice.  
Bernie Madoff
Friday 22 August 2014
Many a quinoa-based dinner party has boiled and fizzed in anger at the apparent lack of accountability, the sheer brazen-ness of rogue businesses or politicians to carry on without regret or punishment.

Pages