In brief: Government reshuffle so far

New appointments:-

  • Sajid Javid: Treasury financial secretary
  • Robert Goodwill: parliamentary under secretary (Department of Transport)
  • Esther McVey: minister of state (employment)
  • Nicky Morgan: Treasury economic secretary
  • Mike Penning: minister of state (Department for Work and Pensions)
  • Don Foster: chief whip
  • Greg Hands: deputy chief whip
  • Alistair Carmichael: Scottish secretary
  • Matt Hancock: minister of state (skills and enterprise)
  • Baroness Kramer: junior transport minister
  • Norman Baker: junior home office minister
  • Andrew Robathan: junior minister of state (Northern Ireland Office)
  • Hugh Robertson: minister of state (Foreign and Commonwealth Office)
  • Shailesh Vara: junior minister of state (Ministry of Justice)
  • Stephen Williams: parliamentary under secretary (Department for Communities and Local Government)


  • Jeremy Browne: minister of state (Home Office)
  • Mark Prisk: housing minister
  • Mark Hoban: minister of state (employment)
  • Alistair Burt: foreign and commonwealth minister
  • Liam Byrne: shadow work and pensions minister
  • Stephen Twigg: shadow education minister
  • Greg Knight: whip
  • Michael Moore: Scottish Secretary
  • Richard Benyon: Department for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs


  • John Randall: deputy chief whip
  • Chloe Smith: Cabinet Office minister
  • Simon Burns: transport minister
  • Rob Flello: shadow justice minister
  • Anne Maguire: shadow minister for disabled people


  • Helen Grant: parliamentary under secretary (sport) (loses Justice role)
  • Greg Clark: minister of state (cities and constitutions) (loses Treasury role)
  • Jim Murphy: International Development (no longer shadow defence secretary)