Van Persie and Walker honoured by fellow pros


NAL’S Robin van Persie and Tottenham’s Kyle Walker completed a north London clean sweep at the PFA Awards last night.

Gunners captain Van Persie, who has scored 34 goals in what has been a tumultuous campaign for Arsene Wenger’s team, was voted Player of the Year.

Spurs full-back Walker, who made his England debut in a breakthrough season, beat a strong field to the Young Player of the Year gong.

Walker’s Spurs team-mates Scott Parker and Gareth Bale were also named in the Premier League Team of the Year at the awards, which are voted for by players themselves.

Manchester City boasted four players in the top flight XI but Sergio Aguero missed out on that and the individual awards, despite being shortlisted for both.

Player of the Year
■ Robin van Persie (Arsenal)

Young Player of the Year
■ Kyle Walker (Tottenham)

Team of the Year
■ J Hart (Man City), K Walker (Tottenham), V Kompany (Man City), F Coloccini (Newcastle), L Baines (Everton), D Silva, Y Toure (both Man City), S Parker (Tottenham), G Bale (Tottenham), W Rooney (Man Utd), R Van Persie (Arsenal)