Trott and Cook land awards

CRICKET: Jonathan Trott pipped fellow Ashes-winner Alastair Cook to the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy Award for the International Cricket Council’s Cricketer of the Year. Trott, along with Cook, was the bedrock of England’s victory in Australia last winter with 445 runs batting at No3. Cook, who made 766 runs in Australia, won the Test Cricketer of the Year award ahead of team-mates Trott and James Anderson, as well as South Africa’s Jacques Kallis.