THIS evening will see 450 guests in their finery roll up at the Grange hotel at St Paul’s, as City A.M. proudly hosts its first ever awards ceremony honouring the UK’s business stars and City luminaries.

The award winners will come from a diverse range of sectors, from investment to retail banking, fund management and insurance right through to corporates, law and accountancy – with all nominations submitted by our readers and judged by a distinguished panel of industry leaders.

Helping City A.M. editor Allister Heath and deputy editor David Hellier pick the winners were Slaughter and May partner Nigel Boardman; Simon Borrows of Greenhill; Alison Carnwath, chairman of Land Securities; Simon Dingemans, who is leaving Goldman Sachs for a new role as finance director of GlaxoSmithKline; KPMG senior partner John Griffith-Jones; Jon Moulton, founder of Better Capital; Finsbury PR founder Roland Rudd; Truett Tate, an executive director at Lloyds Banking Group; and Bob Wigley, chair of the Wigley Report.

The winners will include company awards for the year’s best alternative manager, property firm, retail broker, insurer, professional services firm, law firm, retail and investment bank, while individual awards will go to those named the year’s best dealmaker, lawyer, fund manager, analyst, trader and rising star.

They will then be topped off by the two flagship awards for company and personality of the year. In contention for the former are Barclays, Burberry, HSBC, BSkyB and Tesco, while the larger-than-life characters in the running for the latter are Barclays president Bob Diamond, Mayor of London Boris Johnson, Capita boss Paul Pindar, BA chief executive Willie Walsh and Angela Knight, chief executive of the British Bankers’ Association.

After the awards presentation, led by TV presenter Katie Derham (left), the fun will really start – with entertainment from The Baseballs, the rock and roll band founded in Berlin, and a DJ until 3am. We look forward to celebrating with our guests well into the wee hours!


The nominees for the Personality of the Year award (above left to right): Barclays president Bob Diamond; Mayor of London Boris Johnson; Capita chief executive Paul Pindar; British Airways chief executive Willie Walsh and BBA boss Angela Knight

A worthy winner is selected by the judges, including City A.M. editor Allister Heath, Land Securities chair Alison Carnwath, KPMG boss John Griffith-Jones, Better Capital’s Jon Moulton and Greenhill’s Simon Borrows
Micha Theiner/City A.M.


Contenders for Company of the Year are (above left to right): Barclays, headed by John Varley; Burberry, under Angela Ahrendts; HSBC, under the stewardship of Michael Geoghegan; BSkyB, under Jeremy Darroch; and retailer Tesco, led by Sir Terry Leahy