New superfast internet plans

TWELVE cities will share a £50m pot created to boost businesses’ access to ultrafast broadband, the chancellor announced yesterday.

The money will be split up between Brighton and Hove, Cambridge, Coventry, Derby, Oxford, Portsmouth, Salford, York, Newport, Aberdeen, Perth and Derry. It will go to authorities in those areas as part of a “super-connected cities” scheme, made to deliver ultrafast broadband to thousands of businesses.

Larger cities including London, have already been assigned a shared £100m fund.