New points system for F1

FORMULA ONE is to get a new points system for the 2010 season following an agreement between the world governing body, the FIA, and the teams.

From now, drivers will be awarded 25 points for every race win ­– seven points more than for secondplace. F1 bosses believe this will create a “race-to-win” attitude.

The new points sequence for the top ten is as follows: 25, 18, 15, 12, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2, 1.

The Formula One commission also ruled that teams must start each race on the same tyres as they set their grid time in, while double diffusers will be banned from 2011.