Five-star Swansea land first major trophy


TWO goals apiece from midfielders Nathan Dyer and Jonathan de Guzman helped Swansea to a record victory over League Two club Bradford at Wembley yesterday, landing the Swans their first trophy in the club’s 100-year history.

Spanish star Michu was also among the goals in the biggest margin of victory in League Cup final history, while Bradford, who had beaten Premier League sides Wigan, Arsenal and Aston Villa on their road to Wembley, finished with 10 men after goalkeeper Matt Duke was sent off for a foul on De Guzman, handing the Welsh club a penalty and their fourth goal.

Swansea boss Michael Laudrup hailed wining the trophy as the best moment of his managerial career.

“As a manager it’s absolutely at the top, winning a trophy for the first time in 100 years,” said the 48-year-old Dane.

“The first trophy is always special and now next year we will play in Europe – it’s a nice experience.”

Dyer put Swansea in front on 16 minutes, sliding in the rebound after Duke had parried away Michu’s initial effort.

The Spanish forward doubled his team’s lead before half-time with a precision finish through the legs of defender Carl McHugh.

Bradford’s second-half resistance lasted just two minutes when Dyer finished a fine team move with a cool left-foot strike across goal and into the corner.

Duke tripped De Guzman inside the box to gift Swansea a penalty just before the hour mark and, after a squabble with Dyer over who would take the spot kick, the Holland international dusted himself down to beat 21-year-old substitute keeper Jon McLaughlan.

De Guzman added insult to injury when he turned in No5 in second-half stoppage time.

Bradford manager Phil Parkinson said: “I am disappointed we were not able to make a game of it.”