Bruised Lions count cost of unbeaten run

<strong>SOUTHERN KINGS (8)</strong> vs. <strong>BRITISH LIONS (20)</strong><br /><br />THE British and Irish Lions were left counting the cost of their bruising encounter with Southern Kings as preparation for the first Test with South Africa suffered a new double setback.<br /><br />Prop Euan Murray and fly-half James Hook both limped out of the hard-fought 20-8 victory in Port Elizabeth, leaving them serious doubts for Saturday&rsquo;s clash with the world champions.<br /><br />Ronan O&rsquo;Gara&rsquo;s penalty gave the Lions a share of the spoils in an otherwise disappointing first half before England wing Ugo Monye touched down for his fourth try of the tour early in the second half.<br /><br />A penalty try and seven more points from the boot of O&rsquo;Gara put the Lions out of sight before flanker Mpho Mbiyozo scored a consolation for the hosts.<br /><br />Although coach Ian McGeechan will be delighted at seeing his side extend their 100 per cent tour record, he will no doubt wince at the prospect of losing two more of his squad.<br /><br />Scottish international Murray, who had been in the running for a starting spot in Durban, needed crutches to hobble back to the dressing room after damaging his ankle inside eight minutes.<br /><br />He was then joined on the treatment table five minutes later by Welsh fly-half Hook, who had to be helped off the field following treatment for a head injury.<br /><br />McGeechan said: &ldquo;They Southern Kings wanted to make a game of it. It was pretty full on, and we had to keep enough composure to win the game, which was the very pleasing aspect of it. I am really proud of the discipline we showed &ndash; it showed the players&rsquo; focus &ndash; and they got their just reward.&rdquo;<br /><br />Meanwhile, South Africa&rsquo;s star flanker Schalk Burger will miss Saturday&rsquo;s first Test with the Lions with a calf injury. He is replaced in Peter de Villiers&rsquo; side by Heinrich Brussow.<br /><br />The Springbok line-up is: F Steyn; Pietersen, Jacobs, de Villiers, Habana, Pienaar, du Preez; Mtawarira, du Plessis, Smit (capt), Botha, Matfield, Brussow, Smith, Spies.