Benfica left cursing their luck as Sevilla lift Europa League trophy

CURSED Benfica lost an eighth successive European final last night, surrendering the Europa League title to Sevilla in a penalty shootout.

Soon after winning the European Cup in 1962, Benfica parted company with manager Bela Guttmann and he declared the Portuguese club would not win another trophy on the continent for 100 years.

And having finished runners-up in the competition to Chelsea last year, Benfica succumbed again in Turin when Oscar Cardozo and Rodrigo saw spot-kicks saved by goalkeeper Beto after an even contest ended goalless.

Sevilla had gone closest to winning the final in extra time, but Carlos Bacca fired inches wide after a sensational pass from Ivan Rakitic left him with just goalkeeper Jan Oblak to beat.

The Spanish club, who won the trophy under former Spurs manager Juande Ramos in 2006 and 2007, finished ninth in La Liga last year but were able to enter the Europa League at the expense of Malaga, banned from European competition for one season due to a financial dispute.