Suarez crowned player of the year

LIVERPOOL striker Luis Suarez was voted player of the year by his fellow professionals, and received his trophy at a PFA awards dinner last night. He said: “I always try me best for the team and it is nice to get awards, but really this is for my team-mates and the staff at Liverpool because without their help I wouldn’t have this prize.” Chelsea’s Eden Hazard was voted young player of the year. Hazard was also runner-up to Suarez in the main award with Manchester City’s Yaya Toure third.

■ Petr Cech (Chelsea)

■ Luke Shaw (Southampton)

■ Vincent Kompany (Manchester City)

■ Gary Cahill (Chelsea)

■ Seamus Coleman (Everton)

■ Eden Hazard (Chelsea)

■ Yaya Toure (Manchester City)

■ Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)

■ Adam Lallana (Southampton)

■ Luis Suarez (Liverpool)

■ Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool)