England and Australia renew hostilities

ENGLAND began their quest to win a fourth consecutive Ashes series for the first time since 1890 when the first Test began this morning at The Gabba in Brisbane. Captain Alastair Cook named wicketkeeper Matt Prior in his team, despite concerns over a torn calf muscle, as well as seam bowler Chris Tremlett. Meanwhile, batsman Kevin Pietersen won his 100th international cap.