Cech insists referee was correct to allow controversial equaliser

 
Julian Harris
Follow Julian
CHELSEA goalkeeper Petr Cech has insisted that the Blues’ controversial equaliser against Cardiff City on the weekend was valid, despite complaints that referee Anthony Taylor should have disallowed the goal.

With the visitors leading 1-0 at Stamford Bridge, Samuel Eto’o stole the ball from David Marshall as the goalkeeper was bouncing it. The resulting goal – scored by Eden Hazard – embarrassed Marshall and started a comeback that ended with Chelsea winning 4-1. Yet Cech has little sympathy for his counterpart.

“As a goalkeeper you make sure when you have control of the ball, you look around and make sure nobody can touch it,” said the Czech international, whose appearance for Chelsea was his 300th in the Premier League.

“When you bounce the ball, when you don't have the ball in your hands, you don’t have full control and the referee made the decision he felt was correct.”

The rulebook states that a goalkeeper, when bouncing a ball, is assumed to have it under control – meaning that it is a foul to kick the ball away. Cardiff manager Malky Mackay reacted angrily.

“[Marshall] said he saw Eto’o standing next to him and he knows the rule. He knows he's allowed to bounce the ball and that’s why he bounced it,” Mackay said.

Chelsea boss Jose Mourinho was also irate at the game’s officials, being sent to the stands after complaining about time-wasting.

Chelsea now travel to Germany to face Schalke 04 in tomorrow night’s Champions League clash. Schalke top Group E having won both their opening games, yet are without star striker Klaas-Jan Huntelaar who confirmed last week that he will undergo surgery on his knee, ruling him out until early next year.