These are the cities vying to host the London-based European Banking Authority after Brexit

Catherine Neilan
Follow Catherine
Supermoon Rises Over The UK
Flying the nest: Canary Wharf-based EBA is to be relocated to one of eight cities (Source: Getty)

The Council of the EU has received bids from 23 cities to host the European Banking Authority and the European Medicines Agency, which will be relocated after Brexit.

In total eight offers have been made to host the EBA, which regulates the European banking sector, assessing risks and vulnerabilities by carrying out EU-wide stress tests. Some 19 cities are bidding to host the EMA, which is responsible for the scientific evaluation, supervision and safety monitoring of medicines in the EU and maintains the single market for medicines in the EU.

The Council is now going through the submissions and a vote will be taken in November to decide where the two bodies, currently based in London's Canary Wharf, will be moved to.

‚ÄčThese are the cities hoping to host the EBA:

Brussels (Belgium)

Dublin (Ireland)

Frankfurt (Germany)

Paris (France)

Prague (Czech Republic)

Luxembourg-City (Luxembourg)

Vienna (Austria)

Warsaw (Poland)

Here are the cities hoping to host the EMA

Amsterdam (The Netherlands)

Athens (Greece)

Barcelona (Spain)

Bonn (Germany)

Bratislava (Slovakia)

Brussels (Belgium)

Bucharest (Romania)

Copenhagen (Denmark)

Dublin (Ireland)

Helsinki (Finland)

Lille (France)

Milan (Italy)

Porto (Portugal)

Sofia (Bulgaria)

Stockholm (Sweden)

Malta (Malta)

Vienna (Austria)

Warsaw (Poland)

Zagreb (Croatia)

The Council will be looking for evidence that the new host city can guarantee that the agency will be operational when the UK leaves the EU, is in an accessible location, will be able to offer schools for the children of the staff and access to the labour market and health care for the employees' families, can promise business continuity and geographical spread.

It will publish an assessment of offers by September 30 and a decision will be voted on by the 27 ministers in November.

All offers will be submitted to the vote unless they are withdrawn by the countries concerned. The vote will consist of successive voting rounds as needed, with the votes cast by secret ballot and each of the 27 member states having the same number of votes.

Related articles