The Open Championship prize money 2017: Why this year's winner's reward is like none other before it

Joe Hall
Follow Joe
145th Open Championship - Day Four
Stenson celebrates winning last year's £1.18m prize last year (Source: Getty)

The prize for this year’s Open Championship winner will be unlike any received by previous Claret Jug holders.

Not only is the largest monetary reward in Open history up for grabs at Royal Birkdale, but for the first time the winner will be paid in US dollars rather than sterling.

Governing body the R&A are this year putting up a total prize fund of $10.25m (£7.9m), with the winner receiving $1.8m (£1.4m) and the runner-up $1.1m (£840,000).

“We are operating in an increasingly global marketplace and have made the decision to award the prize fund in US dollars in recognition of the fact that it is the most widely adopted prize money for golf,” said R&A chief executive Martin Slumbers.

Read more: Why Jon Rahm can win Open Championship and deny Tommy Fleetwood a dream victory at Birkdale

The $1.8m prize at this year’s tournament represents a significant $250,000 jump on the $1.55m banked by last year’s champion Henrik Stenson.

Yet the £1.18m cash prize paid to Stenson, winning the first Major of his career, actually amounted to less in dollar terms than the £1.15m earned by 2015 champion Zach Johnson due to the collapse in the value of the pound after the UK voted to leave the European Union.

What the top 10 finishers at the Open will earn

Position Prize money
1st $1,845,000
2nd $1,067,000
3rd $684,000
4th $532,000
5th $428,000
6th $371,000
7th $318,000
8th $268,000
9th $235,000
10th $213,000

Despite the increase, the Open’s prize is still topped by the Masters, the US Open as well as the unofficial fifth Major, the Players Championship.

The US PGA Championship, which takes place next month, is yet to announce this year’s prize. Last year’s winner Jimmy Walker made $1.8m.

The US Open became the richest tournament in golf this year when it boosted its prize fund to $12m, with winner Brooks Koepka taking home a record $2.2m.

Masters winner Sergio Garcia earned $1.98m from the tournament’s largest-ever fund of $11m in April, while Korean Kim Si-woo took home $1.9m for winning the Players Championship.

Related articles