Queen's Speech voted through despite Conservative party's slim majority as Jeremy Corbyn sacks frontbench MPs

Lucy White
Two amendments were defeated in the final vote (Source: Getty)

Theresa May's government has won the final vote on the Queen's Speech, with a majority of 323 MPs voting in favour of the Conservative party's legislative agenda.

Read more: Queen's speech: Here's the full text, featuring a flurry of Brexit bills

The government also won the vote on two amendments: one calling on the government to keep Britain in the EU's Single Market and Customs Union, and a second brought by the Labour front bench which effectively tried to add the party's election manifesto to the Queen's speech.

The latter amendment was defeated by a majority of 26, with 323 MPs voting against it.

However the Brexit amendment, proposed by Labour MP Chuka Umunna, received 101 votes in favour of it compared to 322 against – suggesting that several Labour MPs defied their party whip to abstain.

Without any Labour participation, there should only have been 388 MPs left to vote.

"While it is disappointing that our amendment did not win a majority of votes in the House of Commons, what it shows is that pro-European backbench MPs of all parties are not going to simply submit to a hard Brexit,” said Umunna.

"With a hung parliament, we have a real chance in future to shape Britain's exit from the EU to protect jobs and working people."

In the aftermath, Corbyn sacked pro-European shadow foreign office minister Catherine West and shadow housing ministers Andy Slaughter and Ruth Cadbury, demoting them from the front bench. Shadow transport minister Daniel Zeichner resigned.

A third amendment, due to be tabled by Labour's Stella Creasy, was withdrawn before the vote as the government saw little chance of winning it.

Creasy proposed that women from Northern Ireland should receive free abortions on the UK mainland, and the government changed its decades-long policy on the issue just hours before the vote.

The Conservative party, who have teamed with Northern Ireland's DUP, currently hold 327 seats.

Read more: Theresa May's government thwarts Labour bid to end cap on public sector pay in first test of Tory-DUP deal