Grenfell tragedy: Number of tower blocks with combustible cladding rises to 27

Helen Cahill
Follow Helen
Camden residents have been evacuated (Source: Getty)

The cladding on 27 tower blocks in 15 councils across England have failed to pass fire safety tests carried out following the tragic fire in Grenfell tower.

Local authority areas where cladding has failed to pass tests include Manchester, Portsmouth, Plymouth, Hounslow, Brent and Camden.

Read more: Five Camden blocks evacuated following Grenfell tower blaze

However, the government has said it is not identifying the other areas affected before residents have been informed. The results of fire safety tests are being distributed to the relevant fire services and landlords.

Councils will then decide on the best ways to inform residents and what action to take.

In Camden, the council has evacuated thousands of families from their flats on the Chalcots Estate, Swiss Cottage, due to safety concerns.

Communities secretary Sajid Javid has said it was "absolutely the right decision" to evacuate the five blocks of flats on the advice of fire officials. However, some 85 residents have refused to leave their homes.

Prime Minister Theresa May said today that steps will be taken to secure people new accommodation.

May told the BBC:

We are making sure that the authority has the ability to do what is necessary to ensure people have somewhere to stay and that the work is done so that those tower blocks will become safe for them to return to in future.

Related articles