Scottish National Party elects Ian Blackford as its new Westminster leader

Helen Cahill
Follow Helen
Nicola Sturgeon Joins SNP Election Winning MP's In Westminster
The SNP lost more than 20 seats in the election (Source: Getty)

Ian Blackford, the MP for Ross, Skye and Lochaber, has been elected as the Scottish National Party's (SNP) new Westminster leader.

Angus Robertson, the former SNP leader in Westminster, lost his seat in the UK election.

The BBC Leader's Debate Takes Place In Cambridge
Robertson lost his seat in the vote on 8 June (Source: Getty)

Blackford tweeted that it was a "honour" to be selected to lead the third largest party in the House of Commons.

The former investment banker was the party treasurer before he was removed for trying to restrict the party's overdraft. Blackford fell out with Alex Salmond, threatening to sue him for defamation over comments he made at a meeting before the vote of no confidence was cast against Blackford.

The SNP also announced today that Kirsty Blackman, MP for Aberdeen North, will become its deputy group leader.

Read more: Sturgeon to demand a "four nation" approach to Brexit

Nicola Sturgeon, SNP leader, said: "I'm delighted to see Ian Blackford elected as leader of the SNP's Westminster group. Ian has formidable professional and political experience and has played a key role in the last two years as part of the effective opposition to the Tory government.

"Our immediate priority is to work with others in the House of Commons to put a halt to Theresa May's hard Brexit and her austerity programme, both of which have been rejected by the electorate."

Related articles