General Election 2017: Liberal Democrat leader Tim Farron holds on in Westmorland and Lonsdale after Nick Clegg loses seat

Rebecca Smith
Farron had hoped to win over voters with his pro-EU stance
Farron had hoped to win over voters with his pro-EU stance (Source: Getty)

Liberal Democrat leader Tim Farron has held onto his seat in a close contest.

He had held a majority of 8,949 over the Conservatives in the 2015 General Election, when the party took a hammering and lost a cluster of senior party figures.

But that was slashed to just 777 as he pipped Conservative James Airey to the post with 23,686 votes.

Read more: Jeremy Corbyn wins huge 30,000 majority - and calls on Theresa May to quit

Lib Dem stalwart Norman Lamb also returns in Norfolk North, despite a concerted push by the Conservatives.

But ex-party leader and former deputy prime minister Nick Clegg lost his seat in Sheffield Hallam, with Labour snatching the seat.

Read more: Gina Miller says hard Brexit worries have swung the election

The Lib Dems had been hoping to pick up support with their pro-EU stance amid concerns over a hard Brexit. But while Jo Swinson reclaimed her seat from the SNP, Greg Mulholland lost out in Leeds North West.

On a more positive note for the party, former business secretary Vince Cable fought back successfully in Twickenham, reclaiming his seat from the Conservatives with a 9,752 majority in a big swing.

Read more: Pound is down to a new low for the night as election jitters set in

Related articles