Former Ukip leader Nigel Farage has ruled out another election attempt

Mark Sands
Follow Mark
The British Prime Minister Triggers Article 50
The UK will head to the poll on 8 June (Source: Getty)

Former Ukip leader Nigel Farage has ruled out making another attempt to enter parliament at the June election, despite branding the seat of outgoing MP Douglas Carswell "an easy win".

Carswell announced earlier today that he would not seek re-election in the seat, but Farage has today scotched any suggestion of an eighth bid for Westminster election.

The MEP - who quit as Ukip party leader in the aftermath of the Brexit vote - wrote in the Telegraph that he would instead "fight for Brexit in Europe".

Read more: Nigel Farage accuses Douglas Carswell of trying to split Ukip

Farage was defeated by former Ukip member and now Conservative MP Craig Mackinlay in South Thanet in 2015, losing out by 2,812 votes.

It marked Farage's best effort to enter parliament, with the Eurosceptic gaining almost a third of the vote in the constituency despite losing out. He has stood in every general election since 1997, as well as by-elections in 2006 and 2004.

The former Ukip leader has represented South East England as an MEP since 1999.

Former Ukip donor Arron Banks is considering whether or not to stand in the Clacton constituency, having first declared his candidacy in a bid to defeat Carswell.

Related articles