Osborne, Clegg and Boles - who is, and isn't, standing for election this summer

Mark Sands
Follow Mark
Only one of these men wants to be an MP after June. Can you tell which? (Source: Getty)

Theresa May's shock declaration of an early General Election has left MPs scrambling to make decisions over whether or not they will seek to retain their jobs in Westminster.

Former chancellor George Osborne is the most high-profile figure to have already ruled himself out, but who is - and isn't - seeking to be in Parliament after 8 June?


George Osborne might have ruled himself out, but others are keeping themselves in.

Former skills minister Nick Boles announced in October that he would take leave from parliament for cancer treatment, but has today declared on Facebook that he will seek re-election after doctors told him he will make a full recovery.

Europhile Ken Clarke - the only Conservative to have voted against granting Prime Minister Theresa May the power to trigger Article 50 - who had been expected to stand down in 2020, has also revealed that he will seek another term in parliament.

And heading for the exit is Sir Gerald Howarth. The Brexiteer former defence minister has confirmed that he will be joining Osborne in heading for the exit.


11 Labour MPs have so far said they won't seek re-election in June.

Most high-profile is Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy select committee chair Iain Wright, who said this morning that he would quit parliament.

Wright and his committee have been a powerful watchdog in parliament, hauling retail bosses Philip Green and Mike Ashley before MPs for grilling.

Former shadow home secretary Andy Burnham has confirmed that he will depart parliament - Burnham will be attempting to be elected as Greater Manchester's first regional mayor on 4 May.

Liverpool Walton MP Steve Rotheram is also expected to depart in light of his bid to secure the same role in Merseyside, but has yet to make his plans explicit. Liverpool mayor Joe Anderson is seeking to replace him as Labour's candidate for the seat.

Definitely going are Vote Leave chair Gisela Stuart, short-lived education secretary Pat Glass, shadow Northern Ireland secretary Dave Anderson, former shadow Treasury minister Rob Marris, Labour grandee Alan Johnson and backbenchers Tom Blenkinsop, Andrew Smith, Fiona Mactaggart and Jim Dowd.


There are only nine Lib Dem MPs in parliament, but one of them has already declared an intention to depart.

It's not Nick Clegg - the former deputy prime minister has today made clear that he will seek re-election in Sheffield Hallam. Instead, Southport MP John Pugh has decided not to contest the seat.

With so few sitting MPs, the interesting names for the Lib Dems may be who is seeking a return - former business secretary Vince Cable is among the former ministers bidding for revenge on their 2015 conquerors.

Related articles