British and Irish Lions squad: Warren Gatland's full squad list for New Zealand tour 2017

Joe Hall
Follow Joe
Australia v British & Irish Lions: Game 3
Jamie Roberts was a notable exclusion from Warren Gatland's squad (Source: Getty)

Beating the All Blacks is a tricky business, something British and Irish Lions head coach Warren Gatland has never managed it as a coach. After months of watching matches, digesting the data and discussing with his staff, the head coach has finally put together the list of names he believes are best equipped to do so on this year's tour of New Zealand.

Here's what you need to know:

  • Sam Warburton to captain Lions for second time
  • No place for Wales centre Jamie Roberts
  • England players Dylan Hartley, Joe Launchbury, George Ford and Chris Robshaw all left out
  • Only two Scots picked - neither of the Gray brothers
  • Jared Payne and Ross Moriarty the surprise inclusions

Read more: Sam Warburton backed to show leadership quality for Lions

And here's the squad in full. Can these men beat New Zealand?


  • Rory Best, Ulster, Ireland
  • Dan Coles, Leicester, England
  • Taulupe Faletau, Bath, Wales
  • Tadhg Furlong, Leinster, Ireland
  • ​Jamie George, Saracens, England
  • Iain Henderson, Ulster, Ireland
  • Maro Itoje, Saracens, England
  • Alun Wyn-Jones, Ospreys, Wales
  • George Kruis, Saracens, England
  • Courtney Lawes, Northampton Saints, England
  • Joe Marler, Harlequins, England
  • Jack McGrath, Leinster, Ireland
  • Ross Moriarty, Gloucester, Wales
  • Sean O'Brien, Leinster, Ireland
  • Peter O'Mahony, Munster, Ireland
  • Ken Owens, Scarlets, Wales
  • Kyle Sinckler, Harlequins, England
  • CJ Stander, Musnter, Ireland
  • Justin Tipuric, Ospreys, Wales
  • Mako Vunipola, Saracens, England
  • Billy Vunipola, Saracens, England
  • Sam Warburton (captain), Cardiff Blues, Wales


  • Dan BIggar, Ospreys, Wales
  • Elliot Daly, Wasps, England
  • Jonathan Davies, Scarlets, Wales
  • Owen Farrell, Saracens, England
  • Leigh Halfpenny, Toulon, Wales
  • Robbie Henshaw, Leinster, Ireland
  • Stuart Hogg, Glasgow Warriors, Scotland
  • Jonathan Joseph, Bath, England
  • Conor Murray, Munster, Ireland
  • George North, Northampton Saints, Wales
  • Jack Nowell, Exeter Chiefs, England
  • Jared Payne, Ulster, Ireland
  • Jonathan Sexton, Leinster, Ireland
  • Tommy Seymour, Glasgow Warriors, Scotland
  • Ben Te'o, Worcester Warriors, England
  • Anthony Watson, Bath, England
  • Rhys Webb, Ospreys, Wales
  • Liam Williams, Scarlets, Wales
  • Ben Youngs, Leicester Tigers, England

The Lions' tour of New Zealand kicks off on 3 June with a match against a provincial side in Whangarei, three weeks before the first test against the All Blacks on Saturday 24 June in Auckland.

Gatland's men then travel to Wellington a week later before returning to Auckland for the final test on Saturday 8 July.

All games kick off at 7.35pm in New Zealand, which means an 8.35am wake up call for viewers back home.

Here's the full schedule:

Date Opponent Venue
3/6/2017 New Zealand Provincial Barbarians Toll Stadium, Whangarei
7/6/2017 Blues Eden Park, Auckland
10/6/2017 Crusaders AMI Stadium, Christchurch
13/6/2017 Highlanders Forsyth Barr, Dunedin
17/6/2017 Maori All Blacks Rotorua International Stadium
20/6/2017 Chiefs FMG Stadium Waikato, Hamilton
24/6/2017 All Blacks Eden Park, Auckland
27/6/2017 Hurricanes Westpac Stadium, Wellington
1/7/2017 All Blacks Westpac Stadium, Wellington
8/7/2017 All Blacks Eden Park, Auckland

Related articles