Masters 2017 prize money: How much do golfers earn for winning the first Major of the year?

Joe Hall
Follow Joe
Danny Willett Masters 2017
Winning smile: Reigning Masters champion Willett took home $1.8m last year (Source: Getty)

American golf legend Ben Hogan once remarked that "if the Masters offered no money at all, I would be here trying just as hard."

Such sentiments have oft-been repeated by players invited to the storied surrounds of Augusta and it's just as well the prospect of pulling on an iconic green jersey retains such lustre as the winner's paycheque remains flat for a third consecutive year.

This year's champion will take home $1.8m from a $10m fund, matching the haul of 2016 and 2015 winners Danny Willett and Jordan Spieth respectively.

Read more: Danny Willett thanked his analytics team following his Masters triumph - but what are the key stats used in golf?

As the first Major of year, that still represents the biggest prize on the PGA and European Tours so far this season.

Even a player who finishes bottom of the cut-makers this weekend can still expect to earn at least $20,000.

In dollar terms, the value of winning the Open’s £1.18m prize has been slightly diminished in the last year following the weakening of the pound after Brexit.

Yet both the US Open and the PGA Championship will offer players greater remuneration.

Position Prize money
1st $1.8m
2nd $1.1m
3rd $680,000
4th $480,000
5th $400,000
6th $360,000
7th $335,000
8th $310,000
9th $290,000
10th $270,000

Read more: Sam Torrance column - Dustin Johnson is unbeatable and recalls Tiger Woods in his pomp

The US Open will become the biggest payday in golf this year after increasing its prize money pool from $10m to $12m, setting the winner up for a total take exceeding $2m.

Both the PGA Championship and Players Championship, last year’s most lucrative events on the PGA Tour, are keeping their funds at $10.5m with a $1.9m paycheque.

Next year’s Masters winner can anticipate a more generous reward. In the last 10 years only once has the tournament increased its prize money pool after less than three years — between 2014 and 2015.

Related articles