Nigel Farage is on the shortlist for Time magazine's person of the year. No, seriously

Emma Haslett
Follow Emma
Nigel Farage Outlines UKIP's Key Election Pledges
"Who? Me?" (Source: Getty)

It's not often Beyonce, gymnast Simone Biles, Vladimir Putin and Nigel Farage are all mentioned in the same breath - but last night it was revealed they are among the 11-strong shortlist for Time magazine's person of the year.

Yes, in the past it's been won by the likes of Winston Churchill, John F. Kennedy and, er, you - but now our own Nigel Farage, the man who credited himself with winning the Brexit referendum, may claim that crown.

Farage is described by the award's judges as having "[positioned] the referendum as the start of a global wave against the political establishment".

He's ranked alongside Biles, who earned four gold medals and one bronze at the Rio Olympics this year, as well as arch nemeses Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump.

Other politicians on the shortlist include Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Russian President Vladimir Putin.

They're going up against Beyonce Knowles, Mark Zuckerberg, and two groups - scientists working on the CRISPR project who have developed DNA editing technology, and the local residents who blew the whistle on lead-poisoned water in Flint, Michigan. The winner will be announced tomorrow.

It's been rumoured Farage is considering a move to the US, after Donald Trump personally recommended him for the (already-filled) position of British Ambassador to the US, saying he would do a "great job".

A rather perplexed Downing Street spokesman, though, told Trump there was no vacancy.

"We already have an excellent ambassador to the US," they said.

Farage took that with characteristic humour, saying: "I would like, formally or informally, to do whatever I can to bring our great nations a bit closer together."

Person of the year: past winners

Year Winner
2015 Angela Merkel
2014 Ebola fighters
2013 Pope Francis
2012 Barack Obama
2011 The Protester
2010 Mark Zuckerberg
2009 Ben Bernanke
2008 Barack Obama
2007 Vladimir Putin
2006 You
2005 The Good Samaritans
2004 George W Bush
2003 The American soldier
2002 The Whistleblowers
2001 Rudoph Giuliani
2000 George W Bush
1999 Jeff Bezos
1998 Ken Starr and Bill Clinton
1997 Andrew Grove
1996 David Ho

Related articles