Prime Minister Theresa May will today chair the first meeting of the new industrial strategy cabinet committee

Mark Sands
Follow Mark
Ministers Attend David Cameron's Last Cabinet Meeting
Theresa May established three new committees in her first cabinet meeting (Source: Getty)

Prime Minister Theresa May will today chair the first meeting of a new cabinet committee focused on the government's industrial strategy.

May will lead the committee, which will also be attended by a raft of senior cabinet members, including chancellor Philip Hammond, defence secretary Michael Fallon, international trade secretary Liam Fox and business and energy secretary Greg Clark.

In total, secretaries of state from more than ten different government departments will attend, with a particular focus set to be placed on long term productivity growth.

Read More: What does industrial strategy mean? MPs launch inquiry into May's plans

Speaking ahead of the meeting, May said: “We need a proper industrial strategy that focuses on improving productivity, rewarding hard-working people with higher wages and creating more opportunities for young people so that, whatever their background, they go as far as their talents will take them. We also need a plan to drive growth up and down the country – from rural areas to our great cities.

“If we are to take advantages of the opportunities presented by Brexit, we need to have our whole economy firing. That’s why this committee’s work is of the highest priority, and we will be getting down to work immediately.”

Read More: May to lead cabinet committees on Brexit and industrial strategy

Full list of economy and industrial strategy cabinet committee members

Prime Minister Theresa May

Chancellor of the exchequer Philip Hammond

Business and energy secretary Greg Clark

Work and pensions secretary Damian Green

Health secretary Jeremy Hunt

Environment secretary Andrea Leadsom

Culture secretary Karen Bradley

International trade secretary Liam Fox

Education secretary Justine Greening

Defence secretary Michael Fallon

Community secretary Sajid Javid

Transport secretary Chris Grayling

Related articles