Prime Minister Theresa May makes a few more ministerial changes

James Nickerson
Follow James
Ministers Attend David Cameron's Last Cabinet Meeting
May has fundamentally changed the makeup of government (Source: Getty)

Theresa May has announced a number of junior ministerial appointments as she makes her mark as Prime Minister.

Penny Mordaunt and Mike Penning are now both ministers are the Department of Work and Pensions and Ministry of Defence, respectively.

Meanwhile, Sir Oliver Heald has taken on a ministerial position at the Ministry of Justice.

Read more: May says Scotland should be "fully engaged" in Brexit talks

Lord Price has been appointed as a minister in the department of international trade, Philip Dunne in the department of health and Nick Hurd in the newly formed department for business, energy and industrial strategy.

Other appointments include:

  • Brandon Lewis as a minister at the Home Office
  • Matt Hancock as a minister in culture
  • Jane Ellison as financial secretary to the Treasury
  • Jo Johnson as joint minister of in the education and and the department for business, energy and industrial strategy.
  • John Hayes in the transport department
  • Damian Hinds as a minister in work and pensions.
  • Robert Goodwill as minister for immigration in the Home Office

Read more: May embarks on government restructure to create a new business, energy and industrial strategy department

However, Anna Soubry, Dominic Raab and Baroness Ros Altmann have all left government. 

Altmann, who worked on pensions, said that her efforts to reform pensions over the past year had hit hurdles in the form of short-term political considerations.

Related articles