EU referendum: This is where each cabinet minister stands

James Nickerson
Follow James
Cameron will urge the electorate to vote to stay in the EU (Source: Getty)

Prime Minister David Cameron reckons he got a good enough deal to recommend to the British public that it should vote to stay in the EU.

So good, in fact, that his cabinet is officially going to make that recommendation.

But not every minister agrees, and some want to see the UK leave the EU. Here's how each cabinet minister is going to campaign.


  • Prime Minister David Cameron
  • Chancellor George Osborne
  • Home secretary Theresa May
  • Foreign secretary Philip Hammond
  • Business secretary Sajid Javid
  • Defence secretary Michael Fallon
  • Health secretary Jeremy Hunt
  • Environment secretary Elizabeth Truss
  • Transport secretary Patrick McLoughlin​
  • Scotland secretary David Mundell
  • Education secretary Nicky Morgan
  • Energy secretary Amber Rudd
  • Welsh secretary Stephen Crabb
  • International development secretary Justine Greening
  • Communities and Local Government secretary Greg Clark
  • Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster Oliver Letwin
  • House of Lords Leader Baroness Stowell of Beeston


  • Work and Pensions secretary Iain Duncan Smith
  • Commons Leader Chris Grayling
  • Culture secretary John Whittingdale
  • Northern Ireland secretary Theresa Villiers
  • Justice secretary Michael Gove

Related articles