Sports Personality of the Year 2015 shortlist: Extended list of candidates to compete for this year's gong revealed

Ross McLean
Follow Ross
BBC Sports Personality Of The Year
Andrew Flintoff won Sports Personality of the Year in 2005 (Source: Getty)

A bumper 12 contenders have been shortlisted to contest the 2015 BBC Sports Personality of Year award at the SSE Arena in Belfast on Sunday, 20 December.

Athletics is represented by heptathlete Jessica Ennis-Hill, distance runner Mo Farah and long-jumper Greg Rutherford, while Andy Murray, fresh from his Davis Cup heroics, and Formula One world champion Lewis Hamilton are also nominated.

They will compete with footballer Lucy Bronze, who helped England to third place at the Women’s World Cup in July, heavyweight boxing champion Tyson Fury and Tour de France winner Chris Froome.

He will be joined on the shortlist by fellow cyclist Lizzie Armitstead, swimmer Adam Peaty, gymnast Max Whitlock and rugby league’s Kevin Sinfield.

The original shortlist of 10 was extended to 12 following the success of Fury in beating Wladimir Klitschko in Dusseldorf on Saturday night and Murray’s prominent role in Great Britain’s first Davis Cup victory since 1936.

Related articles