Jeroen Dijsselbloem reappointed as Eurogroup head

Joe Hall
Follow Joe
Dijsselbloem will continue to work as head of the group of European finance ministers (Source: Getty)

Dutch finance minister Jeroen Dijsselbloem has been reappointed as the head of the Eurogroup for another 2.5 years.

Read more: Tsipras - "Greece will continue to fight"

Dijsselbloem faced competition from Spanish finance minister Luis de Guindos, but in a statement the European Council said: "The decision was unanimously supported by all Eurogroup members."

The Eurogroup, made up of finance ministers in the euro area has been a crucial player in Greece's negotiations for a bailout with its creditors and makes policy decisions about the single currency.

Dijsselbloem, known for a relatively uncompromising approach to the proposed bailout conditions, said "I'm very happy that I once again got the confidence of my colleagues."

After an agreement with Greece was reached this weekend, Dijsselbloem said in a statement:

We worked very hard on a number of issues regarding reform, the fiscal situation, the debt problems and financing needs. We were able to agree on a lot of these issues, putting in extra effort on all sides to get Greece back on track. We prepared a report which contained a number of open issues and submitted it to the Summit. During the course of the night and this morning we reached an agreement.

Related articles