"Undo send" feature for Gmail is officially here

 
Jessica Morris
Follow Jessica
Users will have up to 30 seconds after they've pressed send (Source: Getty)

Google has added "undo send" as a formal setting in Gmail for the web, giving users up to 30 seconds to cancel emails after they've hit "send".

The feature was available in Gmail Labs, a section that lets users trial experimental, pre-release features. However, most users don't use this section, and "undo send" has now made it to the main settings panel.

As of today, it's now a standard email feature along the lines of language settings, text styles, email signatures and out of office autoreply.

Read more: Now Gmail lets you transfer money via email in the UK

"'Undo Send' allows people using Gmail to cancel a sent mail if they have second thoughts immediately after sending. The feature is turned off by default for those not currently using the Labs version, and can be enabled from the General tab in Gmail settings," the company said in a blog post today.


(Source: Google)

No doubt it will become a popular tool for people to use when they fire off an angry email and hit send before thinking the consequences through.

It'll also help users avoid slip-ups like the time the Bank of England accidentally emailed details of a special task force looking into the economic consequences of a Brexit to a journalist.

Read more: Email slip-up reveals Bank of England's investigation into what would happen if UK left the EU

Related articles