Select committee results announced as Keith Vaz regains Home Affairs chair and Meg Hillier takes public accounts

Ashley Kirk
Follow Ashley
Keith Vaz's bid to be re-elected as Home Affairs Committee chair was challenged by another Labour MP (Source: Getty)

The results of the select committee elections have been announced as 26 chairs have been elected to the influential parliamentary positions.

No ballot was necessary for 11 committees, where there was just one candidate for each chair.

These include the two committees that will be controlled by the SNP, Scottish Affairs and Energy and Climate Change, as well as the Treasury Committee, which will be chaired by Tory MP Andrew Tyrie.

Some 15 chairs had elections as the positions were contested by more than one MP. A total of 621 ballot papers were submitted.

Among the most notable appointments were Jesse Norman as the Culture Committee chair, Julian Lewis on defence, Frank Field on work and pensions and Meg Hillier on public accounts.

Tory MP Norman said among the key issues he will face as culture chair will be the BBC charter and football governance.

Labour's Meg Hillier said that, under her leadership, the public accounts committee "needs to think like a user of the service but act like a taxpayer".

Keith Vaz was re-elected as chair of the Home Affairs Committee, after his nomination to regain control of the committee was challenged by another Labour MP.

  • Backbench Business: Ian Mearns (Labour)
  • Business, Innovation & Skills: Iain Wright (Labour)
  • Culture, Media & Sport: Jesse Norman (Conservative)
  • Defence: Dr Julian Lewis (Conservative)
  • Education: Neil Carmichael (Conservative)
  • Environmental Audit: Huw Irranca-Davies (Labour)
  • Foreign Affairs: Crispin Blunt (Conservative)
  • Health: Dr Sarah Wollaston (Conservative)
  • Home Affairs: Keith Vaz (Labour)
  • International Development: Stephen Twigg (Labour)
  • Justice: Robert Neill (Conservative)
  • Petitions: Helen Jones (Labour)
  • Public Accounts: Meg Hillier (Labour)
  • Science & Technology: Nicola Blackwood (Conservative)
  • Work & Pensions: Frank Field (Labour)

The next step will be the election of the other members of each select committee, which is also done by secret ballot.

Related articles