WALES chiefs have hit back at criticism of their treatment of wing George North in Friday’s Six Nations defeat to England, insisting they did not see the second-half incident that knocked him out.
Governing body World Rugby has demanded Wales explain why North was allowed to finish the match despite appearing to be rendered unconscious by a collision with team-mate Richard Hibbard.
Rules state any player suspected of losing consciousness must be withdrawn. North had also suffered another blow to the head in the first half, from the boot of England’s Dave Attwood. Wales say Northampton star North demonstrated no ill effects during in-game and post-match tests, but concede they only later saw the blow in question.
“While George is currently symptom free, retrospective video review of the second incident identified the mechanism of injury which was previously unsighted on the field of play,” said a statement from the Wales team management.
“This review has warranted the medical team to manage the player as concussed, although the player currently has no signs and symptoms.”